Hakata Art Aquarium

I haven’t posted anything in ages!!! Ah!! Thought my new job would make my life less busy, guess I was wrong haha!! This post is very late coming and so won’t really be useful, I hope you enjoy the pictures anyway!!

So for the last month or so there has been an Art Aquarium on the 9th floor of Hakata Station. The entrance fee was ¥1000 to get in and well worth it in my opinion!!! Created by Kimura Hidetomo, the Sky Aquarium appears regularly in Roppongi Hills in Tokyo every year, but this year they have taken the art aquarium on tour. Unfortunately the last day is tomorrow May 11th (why I said this post is really too late!)

I found this exhibition really unique and inspiring, afterwards I bought the art aquarium souvenir book, where I read how goldfish were bred from Koi Carp by the Chinese a long time ago, and since then many unique species have been created. Many of these goldfish or Kingyo (金魚)as they are known in Japanese are on display here too! I really want to buy my own fish tank now! I especially like the fish that look directly up! You’ll see what I mean from the pictures!!

Here is the link to the art aquarium website, where I discovered it is on until May 16th if you happen to live in Osaka! I believe it will also come back to Tokyo some point in the future and I’m sure that information will be available here.

 

http://h-i-d.co.jp/art/

Enjoy the pics!

IMG_3704

Bonborium

Bonborium
Bonborium
The four seasons aquarium that has a projection of the changing seasons behind it.
The four seasons aquarium that has a projection of the changing seasons behind it.
Prisrium no 12
Prisrium no 12

IMG_3765

IMG_3770

IMG_3767

The Oiran tank, this is meant to represent the red light district during the Edo-period and has nearly 1000 fish in the tank.
The Oiran tank, this is meant to represent the red light district during the Edo-period and has nearly 1000 fish in the tank.
Another shot of the Oiran tank.
Another shot of the Oiran tank.
Flower Aquarium
Flower Aquarium

IMG_3856

Choutengan fish
Choutengan fish

IMG_3870

IMG_3872

IMG_3875

IMG_3898

Leave a Reply

